Monday, August 30, 2010

An eventful couple of days...

So Thursday morning I wake up and discover that I can't speak.
On top of that my throat felt as though I had swallowed sand paper. 
I went to school anyway, then work shortly after.
As the day progressed my voice slowly came back, but I sounded incredibly masculine.
The worst part about all of it is that I COULDN'T SING!
Friday morning began similarly, but I felt a little better. 
I went to work again from 4 to 11.
Saturday morning arrived and I felt MUCH better. 
I was still coughing a little bit and my voice sounded a little off, but I felt fine.
I had plans for that evening after work (which ended at 6:30) that I wasn't ABOUT to miss. 
But My mother told me I might want to reconsider going to a birthday party for one of my best friends, Mallory.
She said I might want to take it easy and get some rest, 
but what did she know?
Needless to say I went to the birthday party.
I beasted it up playing Ninja,
and I had a good time with a group of my friends.
Later that evening I spent some time with another good friend.
It was pretty much an incredible evening.
I was glad I didn't heed my mother's warning....
until the next morning. 
It would appear my mom MIGHT have known what she was talking about after all. 
I woke up and once again I could hardly speak.
I was coughing like crazy, 
and my face and eyes felt so swollen. 
I ended up calling in sick at work.
Then this morning I planned on going to my Comp 1 class at 9 and then coming home cause I still didn't feel up to speed,
but my body had other plans for me.
I had absolutely no energy.
My entire body ached SO BAD.
I was incredibly dizzy, 
and I almost passed out in the shower.
So I walk in the computer room where my mother is and say
"Well crap. I can't even go to my college class. This sucks."
Then proceed to walk into the living room to lay on the couch 
when I'm struck with a sudden and intense wave of nausea.
My mother walks in the living room a little bit later seeing me laying on the floor next to the trash can and says
"Why aren't you laying on the couch?"
To which I reply
"Umm... I kinda didn't make it there."
So Mom calls the Doctor who says I should come in right away.
I was not happy about this. 
At all.
When mom got off the phone she said
"He wants me to take you up there now."
I whined about it for a little bit and then said
"Can it wait till after I throw up?"
Followed by more whining and complaining.
"I can't even walk! How am I supposed to go to the doctor?!"
I was a very cranky girl this morning cause I was running on very little sleep.
Anyway.
It seemed like an eternity passed while she drove and while we waited in the lobby, 
but finally I got in to see him.
He walks in the room,
asks me basic questions about whats going on,
then asks me if I want a shot that could have me feeling better by tomorrow
Which I couldn't have said yes to fast enough.
He says he'll send the nurse in to give it to me. 
This is where my day gets interesting...
I love this nurse by the way.
She is hilarious and bubbly.
Anyway she walks in with this huge needle filled with fluid,
and informs me that I am to take this shot IN. MY. HINEY.
She says "Okay let me see that little behind of yours."
and my mouth drops open.
I felt my eyes pop out of my face, 
and I managed to squeak "Your shooting me in the hiney?!"
To which she tells me my arm is way to small for all the medicine.
She said she technically wasn't even shooting me in the hiney it was more like right above it.
So she gives me the shot and walks out to get some paper work.
I sat back down on the bench waiting for her to return when suddenly I was hit with nausea again.
Way WAY more intense than the first time,
and I manage to scoot over to the end of the bench where there is a trash can.
My mom asked what I was doing then asked if I was about to be sick.
I nodded and propped my head in my freezing, cold hands on my knees.
The nurse walks back in and everything else just HAPPENED.
Quickly.
Mom told her I was about to be sick.
Then mom looks at me and says 
"Honey, you're shaking."
Which I was. I also broke put into a cold sweat.
The nurse leaps into action doing nurse-ly things.
She pulls this pillow out from under the bench,
lays me down on it,
turns off the lights,
and puts a wet towel on my head.
Which felt heavenly. 
She and my mom said some other things to me, but I don't remember what they said.
I was pretty out of it.
The doctor walked by the room while all of this was taking place and asked what was going on.
Then he told me to stay there till I felt better.
I just layed there for about five minutes.
When I finally "woke up" I remember asking my mom
"Is my butt gonna hurt?"
I don't remember what she said though.
The nausea subsided a little bit and I decided I wanted OUT OF THERE.
I just wanted to cry cause all I wanted to do was sleep!
FINALLY I got out of the Doctors Office and made it home.
Hours later I woke up from a nap
and now here I am.
I feel one hundred times better!
  • My head isn't throbbing,
  •  The nausea is GONE,
  •  and I can BREATHE!
I'm so happy to be almost over this illness.
Which I named "The Epic Head Cold."
I'm looking forward to being able to sing again.
Not only that, but I'm looking forward to being able to get back into my routine.
Even though it all sucked, EPICLY,
and it might've been in my best interest to listen to my mother and stay home on Saturday,
I'm still glad I didn't.
It was definitely worth it to go out that night.
I had a good time, and was able to relax a little from stressing so much.
I need to do that more often...
Just....
minus being ill and all ;)

No comments:

Post a Comment