Monday, August 30, 2010

An eventful couple of days...

So Thursday morning I wake up and discover that I can't speak.
On top of that my throat felt as though I had swallowed sand paper. 
I went to school anyway, then work shortly after.
As the day progressed my voice slowly came back, but I sounded incredibly masculine.
The worst part about all of it is that I COULDN'T SING!
Friday morning began similarly, but I felt a little better. 
I went to work again from 4 to 11.
Saturday morning arrived and I felt MUCH better. 
I was still coughing a little bit and my voice sounded a little off, but I felt fine.
I had plans for that evening after work (which ended at 6:30) that I wasn't ABOUT to miss. 
But My mother told me I might want to reconsider going to a birthday party for one of my best friends, Mallory.
She said I might want to take it easy and get some rest, 
but what did she know?
Needless to say I went to the birthday party.
I beasted it up playing Ninja,
and I had a good time with a group of my friends.
Later that evening I spent some time with another good friend.
It was pretty much an incredible evening.
I was glad I didn't heed my mother's warning....
until the next morning. 
It would appear my mom MIGHT have known what she was talking about after all. 
I woke up and once again I could hardly speak.
I was coughing like crazy, 
and my face and eyes felt so swollen. 
I ended up calling in sick at work.
Then this morning I planned on going to my Comp 1 class at 9 and then coming home cause I still didn't feel up to speed,
but my body had other plans for me.
I had absolutely no energy.
My entire body ached SO BAD.
I was incredibly dizzy, 
and I almost passed out in the shower.
So I walk in the computer room where my mother is and say
"Well crap. I can't even go to my college class. This sucks."
Then proceed to walk into the living room to lay on the couch 
when I'm struck with a sudden and intense wave of nausea.
My mother walks in the living room a little bit later seeing me laying on the floor next to the trash can and says
"Why aren't you laying on the couch?"
To which I reply
"Umm... I kinda didn't make it there."
So Mom calls the Doctor who says I should come in right away.
I was not happy about this. 
At all.
When mom got off the phone she said
"He wants me to take you up there now."
I whined about it for a little bit and then said
"Can it wait till after I throw up?"
Followed by more whining and complaining.
"I can't even walk! How am I supposed to go to the doctor?!"
I was a very cranky girl this morning cause I was running on very little sleep.
Anyway.
It seemed like an eternity passed while she drove and while we waited in the lobby, 
but finally I got in to see him.
He walks in the room,
asks me basic questions about whats going on,
then asks me if I want a shot that could have me feeling better by tomorrow
Which I couldn't have said yes to fast enough.
He says he'll send the nurse in to give it to me. 
This is where my day gets interesting...
I love this nurse by the way.
She is hilarious and bubbly.
Anyway she walks in with this huge needle filled with fluid,
and informs me that I am to take this shot IN. MY. HINEY.
She says "Okay let me see that little behind of yours."
and my mouth drops open.
I felt my eyes pop out of my face, 
and I managed to squeak "Your shooting me in the hiney?!"
To which she tells me my arm is way to small for all the medicine.
She said she technically wasn't even shooting me in the hiney it was more like right above it.
So she gives me the shot and walks out to get some paper work.
I sat back down on the bench waiting for her to return when suddenly I was hit with nausea again.
Way WAY more intense than the first time,
and I manage to scoot over to the end of the bench where there is a trash can.
My mom asked what I was doing then asked if I was about to be sick.
I nodded and propped my head in my freezing, cold hands on my knees.
The nurse walks back in and everything else just HAPPENED.
Quickly.
Mom told her I was about to be sick.
Then mom looks at me and says 
"Honey, you're shaking."
Which I was. I also broke put into a cold sweat.
The nurse leaps into action doing nurse-ly things.
She pulls this pillow out from under the bench,
lays me down on it,
turns off the lights,
and puts a wet towel on my head.
Which felt heavenly. 
She and my mom said some other things to me, but I don't remember what they said.
I was pretty out of it.
The doctor walked by the room while all of this was taking place and asked what was going on.
Then he told me to stay there till I felt better.
I just layed there for about five minutes.
When I finally "woke up" I remember asking my mom
"Is my butt gonna hurt?"
I don't remember what she said though.
The nausea subsided a little bit and I decided I wanted OUT OF THERE.
I just wanted to cry cause all I wanted to do was sleep!
FINALLY I got out of the Doctors Office and made it home.
Hours later I woke up from a nap
and now here I am.
I feel one hundred times better!
  • My head isn't throbbing,
  •  The nausea is GONE,
  •  and I can BREATHE!
I'm so happy to be almost over this illness.
Which I named "The Epic Head Cold."
I'm looking forward to being able to sing again.
Not only that, but I'm looking forward to being able to get back into my routine.
Even though it all sucked, EPICLY,
and it might've been in my best interest to listen to my mother and stay home on Saturday,
I'm still glad I didn't.
It was definitely worth it to go out that night.
I had a good time, and was able to relax a little from stressing so much.
I need to do that more often...
Just....
minus being ill and all ;)

Saturday, August 21, 2010

As sudden as the onset of winter...

So I'm officially a SENIOR
How crazy is that?
High school started on August 12th, 
but College classes began on the 11th.
I am SO IN LOVE with college classes!
I mean I love having no choice but to be responsible.
It leaves me no room to be lazy,
yet it does leave me plenty of room to grow.
I can't wait to graduate high school and become a full time college student.
The only problem is that I have NO CLUE where I'm going to go.
It's. stressing. me. out.
Not only that, but I'm such a procrastinator, 
and I'm TERRIFIED that I'll miss important deadlines and not get scholarships.
Heck, I don't even know what scholarships to apply for.
"I've always had all the answers 
now I don't have a clue."
It's so infuriating. 
That's the one thing I hate about the whole growing up thing. 
While I'm in the shelter of High School I feel like I've got control of everything,
but outside of it, where all these choices that affect my future have to be made....
I feel powerless. 
Like one wrong move, or one irresponsible choice and my future is wrecked.
Is it like that for everyone?
Or am I just weird??
anyway.
I'm very pleased with my school schedule.
I have a night class for College algebra on Tuesday's from 5:30-8.
I don't have to be at the high school till 10
but on Monday's, Wednesday's, and Friday's I have a Freshman Composition class 
from 9-9:50 at the college. 
I get to the school at 10 (which is 3rd period) in time for Spanish 2.
then 4th period is Choir.
Then Lunch.
Then 5th period English 4.
After that I get to go HOME!
How awesome is that?!
Only 3 hours at the high school.
I'm hoping to start getting more hours at work now that I have more time away from school.


This week has been pretty amazing. 
School has gone great so far.
Work is still enjoyable (most of the time ;))
and I don't have to compromise going to church because of work because my boss is amazing and is letting me have the time off to go to church.
Speaking of which!
One of my new friends, Gary, got saved at church this Wednesday!! 
It's incredible!
I'm so proud of him.

I'm really looking forward to what senior year has in store for me.


Saturday, August 7, 2010

No Day But Today.

Sigh...

So I've decided to stop freaking out about this thing called "Growing up" 
apparently it's inevitable.
Anyway, I decided to embrace it.
I mean, sure I'm scared as heck,
I'm a little sad,
and a little angry,
but somewhere mixed in with all of that I'm actually pretty excited.
I guess I have a lot to look forward to ;)
This year is definitely gonna be a learning experience.
I'm going to have to learn to trust God A LOT more because there are quite a few things and people I've had to "Let go of" this summer, and I've just got to remember to trust that He has a plan. 
During Senior year I'm going to leave no adventure behind.
I'm making a resolution to make the best of 
EVERYTHING
I'm leaving "no song unsung, no wine untasted".
(the quote is from a song. I felt the need to mention that so no one thinks I'll be drinking. haha)
and I'll every page of life will be read thoroughly before it's turned.
That way, by the time it's finally over, I'll regret nothing 
and I'll be ready to move to the next chapter in my life.
I'm getting even more excited!
My friends and I are going to have the time of our lives this year!!

"The heart may freeze, or it can burn
the pain will ease if I can learn
there is no future, there is no past,
I live each moment as my last."
-No day but today, RENT

It cracks me up that it's like it's not enough that my life is pretty much a musical already-
with me and my friends bursting into song (harmonizing and all, of course) at any given moment.
And somehow it finds it's way into my blogs! 
There is a song that can go with every one of my blogs. haha!!
How cool is that?

Ok well, that's all I have for now.
Thanks for reading!
Come back soon and I'll have more!
Bye.



Tuesday, August 3, 2010

Are you kidding me?!

It's already AUGUST!?
I can't believe it! 
It seems like only yesterday 2010 began,
and now it's more than halfway over. 
Everyone is growing up.
My Best friend/ unbiological sister, Samantha is now 16!
One of my other Best friends Micah, just turned 18, 
Mallory is turning 17 in a few weeks,
Evan will be 18 in September,
My brother is now a TEENAGER *shudder*
(he turned 13 in March).
2 good friends of mine now have husbands.
A close friend of mine is leaving for college in a few days, 
and I'm going to miss them greatly. 
And the saddest change of all, 
My precious baby Sister is going to be 7 in September. 
She is starting FIRST GRADE in a week!!
I think I'm more torn up about this than my mother. 
I remember last year on the first day of school I couldn't even enjoy my first day of being a Junior because I was sad and incredibly worried about how my sisters first day of kindergarten was.
Ugh... I can't imagine what my first day of Senior year is going to be like.
............................
SENIOR. YEAR.
It sounds so surreal to say it. 
I almost don't believe it.
Everyone I've run into this summer says, "Are you ready for your senior year?"
NO.
I'm not. 
Becuase the first day will soon progress to fall break
which will progress to thanksgiving break,
which will progress to Christmas break,
(Over which I will be turning 18!!)
which will lead to January of 2011!!!!
Everything starts happening after January.
All State Choir, 
Musicals,
Senior Tea,
Senior Banquets,
Senior Prom!!,
Graduation.
And all the happenings that happen in between.
Ugh... My head is spinning. 

I'm going to work.